Thursday, November 13, 1975

## Recognition Dinner Planned For Bailey

More than 34 years of professional public service will be recognized when friends of Leeds Bailey take him out to dinner on December 1 at the East Side Cafe in Ontario.

Sponsored by a committee made up of representatives of various agricultural groups in the county, the dinner is open to all of the many friends Bailey has made in his years as County Extension Agent in Malheur County. Dinner reservations may be made at the Ontario Chamber of Commerce. Malheur County Farm Bureau office, the County Extension office. In addition tickets may be secured from officers of local commodity organizations. Cost of the tickets is \$5.00 and dinner will be served at 7 p.m.

During his years as County Extension Agent, Bailey has worked closely with the alfalfa seed industry and with other facets of field crop production. His expertise in irrigation, drainage and land leveling has helped farmers increase their production through better soil and water management. In addition to his work with

In addition to his work with production Agriculture, Leeds assisted many home owners with problems related to yard and garden care. His career in public service has reflected the concept that

of primary concern are the needs of people. Over the years his efforts and expertise have been directed toward satisfying people's needs for information and assistance in solving the many problems related to

earning a living and enhancing the quality of life. The dinner on December 1 will provide an opportunity for residents of Malheur County to express to Leeds in a small way, appreciation for a lifetime of service and contribution to the welfare of this area.

## Bert Hawkins Heads Oregon Cattlemen

Malheur County rancher. Bert Hawkins, Ontario, was elected President of the 3200 member Oregon Cattlemen's Association in Baker last week. He replaces Ernie Davis, Haines, who served two years as the state Association President. Replacing Hawkins as Plfst Vice President is Bill Ross, Jordan Valley. Other new statewide officers elected were Second Vice-Presidents George McGee, Riley; Reid Johnson, Wallowa; and Carol Rhoads, Culver. Coos County rancher and former state Senator Sam Dement, Myrtle Point, was elected the Association Treasurer.

Association Second Vice-Presidents who will complete their final year of a two year term are Martin Howard, Prineville; Dalton Straus, Central Point; Ray French, Heppner and Roger Dumdi, Dayton. Re-appointed Executive Vice-President of the Association was Donald Ostensoe, Portland.

29 resolutions were passed during the three day meeting The newly elected Cattle-emn's President stated in a press conference that, "The voice of agriculture is weak and fragmented. All farm and commodity groups must work more closely together both at the legislative front and with consumer groups." Hawkins also stressed that membership is organizations like the Cattlemen's Association must be strengthened in numbers and soundly financed so that industry business may be conducted on a county, state and nationwide level.

ASC Has Nominees For County Committee



A slate of nominees for the upcoming ASC county committee election has been developed, according to Russell Fulleton, Chairman Malneur County Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation Service.

The ASC county committee election will be conducted by mail from November 21 until December 1. Eligible ASC voters will receive a secret ballot in the mail with instructions on how to vote for candidates of their choice and return the ballot to the county ASCS office. Participation in ASC elections is open to all farmers regardless of race, religion, sex, color, or national origin.

In the county committee mail election, farmers will elect one committee member (to serve a three-year term) and two alternates (to serve one-year terms).

Ballots will be counted December 4, in the county ASCS office, 1252 S. W. 4th Avenue, Ontario, Oregon, with the public invited to attend.

## Nyssa Jr. High Honor Roll Students

All of these Junion High students have at least a "B" average for the first nine weeks of school. 7th Grade Tiena Tensen, Jan Townsend Janie Vielma, Julene Wagstaff, Mike Wood, Trudy Wynn. 8th Grade

Joy Ballou. Alan Bullard, Sharon Dail, Jerald Drydale, Amy Glenn, Jay Gomeza, John Greig, Julene Grunke, Everet Hiatt, Angie Jayo, Sheila Joyce, Landon Lane, Leslie Lane, Jim Looney, Devina Lowe, Melanie Martin, Christopher Mastas, John McCune, David Moffis, Terri Morrison, Toni Petterson, Lisa Rose, Gigi Saito, Ross Saldana, Kristene Savage, Laura Savage, Steve Schoeneman, Charles Shell Angie Stam, Jeanne Sword, Tanya Atagi, Bob Bass, Mike Blaylock, Kim Cleaver, Terry Cleaver, David Dail, Jeannette Field, Jodi Grunke, Roger Haney, Dina Hirai, Tina Hopman, Brian Imada, Tom Jackson, Lance Koler, Neal Linegar, Nick Lopez, Whitni Morrison, Guy Orozco, Kaylene Robbins, Marley Robinson, Amy Sarazin, Linda Schilling, Tim Shimomaeda, Sheryl South, Irene Teague, Kevin Tooley, Alan Wardsworth, Andy Wo-If, Kathy Wright.

## The Value of History

"We must continue to represent historic preservation as a form of resource conservation. It is our cultural ecology. Our society can no more survive without its history than waterfowl can survive without nesting places. We must represent historic preservation as a good business proposition and as sound economics. When you preserve historic resources you are preserving economic wealth as well as cultural values."

-Rogers C. B. Morton, Secretary of the Interior Speech to the National Conference of State Historic Preservation Officers