POWWOW continued from page 2

then the fifth-through eighth-graders and then the ninth-through 12th-graders.

Saturday afternoon's grand entry may have been the largest ever hosted by the Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde.

Tribal member Chelsea Clark held the smudge pot for everyone who entered the arena and once again host drum Bad Soul kicked the day's event off with an honor song. Chiluk carried the eagle staff and Butler carried the Grand Ronde eagle staff.

Yakama Tribal member Terry Lheemsah Sr. and Nez Perce Tribal member Steve Rubin entered the arena next. Both Lheemsah and Rubin were in full headdress regalia and Lheemsah carried a silver tomahawk and Rubin carried an eagle claw stick.

Red Bull had the second drum song as Bobb carried in the American flag, Tribal Elder Raymond Petite carried in the Grand Ronde Tribal flag, Lane carried in the POW/MIA flag and Miller carried in the Oregon flag.

Red Hoop had the third song as the veterans entered the arena followed by the Grand Ronde Tribal Council represented by Jon A. George, Cheryle A. Kennedy, Denise Harvey, Chris Mercier, Ed Pearsall, Tonya Gleason-Shepek, Vice Chairman Jack Giffen Jr. and Chairman Reyn Leno.

Iron Horse had the fourth song as the golden age women entered followed by the jingle dress dancers and the fancy shawl dancers.

Iron Eagle had the fifth song as the golden age men entered the



Photo by Michelle Alaimo

Darlene Lafferty walks with her son, William Lafferty, during an honoring for Ken Lafferty, Darlene's husband and William's father, during the 2015 Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde Contest Powwow held on Saturday, Aug. 15. Ken walked on on June 6, 2014.

arena followed by the grass dancers and the double bustle dancers.

All the dancers fit nicely onto the dance floor and stood five circles deep around the arena as Bad Soul performed an honor song to retire the colors.

Kennedy offered the invocation and Leno gave the welcome.

"I would like to acknowledge all of our dancers that have come a long ways, our drummers and our guests," said Leno. "We all come together in respect of the Native American culture and our history, which we hope to keep going. I want to always acknowledge our Elders – they always carry our wisdom.

"I want to acknowledge all of our young ones. I want to acknowledge our Royalty that were just crowned yesterday. They are the future of any Native American Tribe.

"We need to think about our firefighters. They are out there trying to protect people's land and their lives. I would ask you to give them your prayers and thoughts."

Saturday saw Māori dancers from New Zealand perform under the arbor and the family of late Tribal Elder Kenneth "Kenny" Lafferty (1938-2014) held a traditional give-away and honor dance.

"My grandpa passed away last year on June 6," said Cheyanne Zimmer, who along with her sister, Nichole Liebelt, made shawls and necklaces for gifts. "There were very high emotions because it was almost like saying goodbye again.

"Afterwards it felt really good and it felt like we did it right. We did right by him and I think we did good honoring him. He was amaz-

SEE POWWOW continued on page 6

2015 Grand Ronde Contest Powwow winners

Junior Girls Jingle: Mary-Jane Rowan, Tsuu T'ina, first; Victoria Butler, Siletz/Yurok/Northern Cheyenne, second; Nizhoni Tallman-Olney, Yakama, third; Kaleigha Simi, Grand Ronde, fourth; and Aleena Westley, Grand Ronde, fifth.

Junior Girls Fancy: Macyquinn Johnson, Paiute/Wasco/Warm Springs, first; Shandiin Shebala, Blackfeet/Navajo, second; Valerie Scabbyrobe, Yakama, third; Katelyn Tanewasha, Warm Springs, fourth; and Semiah Cote Oppenheim, Cree/Soto, fifth.

Junior Girls Traditional: Jovena Scabbyrobe, Yakama, first; Oteskwe Shebala, Blackfeet/Navajo, second; Tia Butler, Siletz/Yurok/Northern Cheyenne, third; Zoe Bevis, Umatilla, fourth; and Maklt Brown-Eagle Branson, Flathead/Spokane, fifth.

Junior Boys Grass: Kenton Walsey, Warm Springs, first; Alvin Sixkiller, Cherokee/Ojibwe, second; Rylee Begay, Dine, third; Sabine Brown-Eagle Branson, Flathead/Spokane, fourth; and Kwn Matheson, Coeur d'Alene, fifth.

Junior Boys Fancy: Keaven Brown, Navajo/Digueno, first; Sun Hawk Barney, Navajo/Burns Paiute, second; Kalen Scalplock, Siksika/Navajo, third; litnakapi Scabbyrobe, Yakama, fourth; and Apollo Johnson, Wasco/Paiute/Warm Springs, fifth.

Junior Boys Traditional: Taylen Begay, Navajo, first; Kisymis Scabbyrobe, Yakama, second; Dylon Begay, Navajo, third; Nacoma Liebelt, Grand Ronde, fourth; and Matthew Paul, Yakama, fifth.

Teen Girls Jingle: Noralene Scalplock, Siksika/Dine, first; Kassie John, Navajo, second; Sahalie Crain, Klamath, third; Anna Delora, Warm Springs, fourth; and SuSun Fisher, Siletz/Salish Kootenai, fifth.

Teen Girls Fancy: Autumn Sky, Wasco, first; Jaydean Randall, Lakota/Navajo, second; Smokee Liz Good Strikes, Kainai, third; Mariah Leavitt, Puyallup/Yakama, fourth; and Aurelia Johnson, Burns Paiute/Haida, fifth.

Teen Girls Traditional: Victory Randall, Lakota/Navajo, first; Ashley Meanus, Oglala Lakota/Warm Springs, second; Star Upshaw, Dine, third; Sydney Matheson, Colville/Coeur d'Alene, fourth; and Dancing Star Leighton, Nez Perce, fifth.

Teen Boys Grass: Devin Browneagle, Kalispell, first; Manny Howley, Cree, second; **Marcel Allen, Grand Ronde, third;** Gaven GrowingThunder, Nez Perce/Sioux, fourth; and Amial Rhoan, Siletz, fifth.

Teen Boys Fancy: Devon Shaw, Shoshone/Dine, first; Brian George, Yakama/Nez Perce, second; Mylo Jones, Yakama, third; Ila Pinkham, Nez Perce, fourth; and Darion Shaw, Shoshone/Dine, fifth.

Teen Boys Traditional: Sitoya Scabbyrobe, Blackfoot/Cree, first; GaryJon Johnson, Wasco, second; Joshua White, Cree, third; Ethan Wallanee, Yakama, fourth; and Leland Whiteplume, Nez Perce, fifth.

Womens Jingle: Candice Chief Scabbyrobe, Cree, first; Henrietta McGurk, Navajo/Apache, second; Paula Shebala, Blackfeet, third; Madrienne Salgado, Muckleshoot, fourth; and Talia Reasoner, Seminole/ Eastern Cherokee, fifth.

Womens Fancy: Desba White, Navajo/Yakama, first; Denelle Stanley, Ute/Navajo/Shawnee/Creek, second; Roseanne Greene, Nez Perce/Salish, third; Crystalena Pacheco, Sioux/Dine, fourth; and Davinee Kaht White Elk, Ute/Blackfeet, fifth.

Womens Traditional: Tilda Walsey, Warm Springs, first; Violet Olney, Yakama, second; **Leah Villa, Grand Ronde, third**; Lautiss Shebala, Nez Perce/Navajo, fourth; and Celeste McGurk, Navajo/Apache, fifth.

Mens Grass: Kelsey Haywahe, Wasco/Assiniboine, first; Darrell Paskimin, Plains Cree, second; Dakota Upshaw, Dine, third; Jesse Bevis Sr., Umatilla, fourth; and Gary Villa, Warm Springs, fifth.

Mens Fancy: Gary Olney, Yakama, first; Perry Thompson, Dine, second; River Thunderchild, Cree, third; Piita Thunderchild, Cree, fourth; and Manny Totus, Yakama, fifth.

Mens Traditional: Sheldon Shebala, Navajo, first; Gabe Cleveland, Ho-Chunk, second; Paris Leighton Sr., Nez Perce, third; Colin Chief, Cree/Warm Springs, fourth; and Hahots Shebala, Nez Perce/Navajo, fifth.

Womens Golden Age: Adele Waskewitch, Salish, first; Leah McGurk Brown, Navajo, second; Charlene Tillequots, Yakama/Nez Perce, third; Wilma Buck, Yakama, fourth; and Patty Young Running Crane, Flathead, fifth.

Mens Golden Age: Elvin Nicotine, Cree/Assiniboine, first; John Meninick, Yakama, second; Irvin Waskewitch, Cree, third; Stan Greene, Nez Perce/Salish, fourth; and Peter Joe Olney, Yakama, fifth.

Drum Contest: Blackstone, first; Iron Horse, second; Wild Rose, third; Iron Eagle, fourth; Consolation: Blacklodge and Red Hoop. ■