draws many spectators



Amelia Mooney, Veterans Junior Queen, dances with other royalty during the Grand Entry of 2014 Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde Contest Powwow.

Photos by Michelle Alaimo

Amaryssa Mooney competes in the Girls Jingle dance category during the 2014 Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde Contest Powwow held at úyxat Powwow Grounds on Saturday, Aug. 16.

Earlier in the day, Senior Miss Grand Ronde Goldie Bly, Junior Miss Grand Ronde Iyana Holmes and Little Miss Grand Ronde Kaleigha Simi, Royalty for 2013-14, stepped down. Newly crowned Royalty were Senior Miss Grand Ronde Promise Rimer, Junior Miss Grand Ronde Iyana Holmes and Little Miss Grand Ronde Isabelle Grout.

Leading Grand Entry this year were Wayne Chulik and Brenda Tuomi, who carried in the Eagle feather staffs. Former Tribal Council member and Vietnam-era Marine Corps veteran Steve Bobb Sr. carried in the U.S. flag while Raymond Petite carried the Oregon flag, Al Miller the powwow flag and Alton Butler the Grand Ronde flag.

Ken Shane, among the dwindling number of living World War II veterans, participated in the powwow as a spectator.

Tours of Chachalu, the new Tribal museum and cultural center, exceeded expectations. At 11 a.m. Saturday, two buses filled with powwow guests took the short ride to Chachalu, said Jan Looking Wolf Reibach, manager of the Tribe's Land and Culture Department. "It was the first of eight tours over the weekend," Reibach said. "From dozens of walk-in visitors, donations and sales amounted to nearly \$1,000 for building the

next phase of the museum and cultural center."

On Saturday afternoon, two leaders of an Estonian group that is part of the European Language Equality Network, which promotes and protects lesser-used languages, arrived. In 2012, the group represented 42 language communities in 21 European countries.

The powwow guests, Merit Leht-Smith and Andres Vares, represent the Estonian Bureau for Lesser Used Languages. Matthew Smith, from outside of Yamhill County, married Merit Leht two years ago in Estonia. Now in Oregon, they will marry again before Smith's family.

Leht-Smith and Vares said they count themselves among the Tatarin indigenous people, but Leht-Smith added that within Russian borders Estonia itself is an indigenous group.

"They are very interested in our Chinuk Wawa program as well as the revitalization of our Tribal culture," said Tribal Public Affairs Director Siobhan Taylor. The group has been in touch with her since September 2013, she said.

It was their first powwow experience.

"We are setting up agreements

See POWWOW continued on page 10

Winners at the 2014 Grand Ronde Contest Powwow

Junior Girls Jingle: Kimberly Chief, Warm Springs, first; Nizhoni Tallman, Yakama/Navajo, second; Leilonnie Wilson, Klamath/Paiute, third; Keaira Wakwak, Yakama, fourth; and Victoria Butler, Siletz/Yurok/Northern Cheyenne, fifth.

Junior Girls Fancy: Kenna Faithful, Cree/Frog Lake, first; Macyquinn Johnson, Paiute/Wasco/Warm Springs, second; Kee'ala Nyoko Kanuho, Dine, third; Kimi Gadwa, Cree/Frog Lake, fourth; and Shandiin Shebala, Diselefant/Neuroin fifth

Grand Ronde, fourth; and Josiah Barney, Navajo, fifth.

Teen Boys Fancy: Jarron Gadwa, Cree, first; Daniel Scholfield, Wintu, second; Ila Pinkham, Nez Perce, third; Emmitt White, Coeur d'Alene, fourth; and **Heyaza Brien, Grand Ronde, fifth**.

Teen Boys Traditional: Garyson Johnson, Wasco, first; Andrew Adams, Yakama, second; and Tresten Joseph, Gros-Ventre, third.

Womens Jingle: Henrietta McGurk, Navajo, first; Paula Shebala, Blackfeet, second; Talia Reasoner, Seminole, third; Shaarnule Azure, Yakama, fourth; and Lolita Henry, Nez Perce, fifth.

Blackfeet/Navajo, fifth.

Junior Girls Traditional: Oteskwe Shebala, Blackfeet/Navajo, first; Jovena Scabbyrobe, Yakama, second; Amelia Andy, Yakama, third; Chelo Garcia, Siletz, fourth; and Justinarose Azure, Yakama, fifth.

Boys Traditional: Leland Whiteplume, Arapaho, first; Elias Nelson, Muckleshoot, second; Emery Kordatzky, Umatilla, third; Hawk Squetiasda, Colville, fourth; and E.J. Denny, Warm Springs, fifth.

Boys Grass: Alvin Sixkiller, Cherokee/Ojibwe, first; Lester Wahsise, Yakama, second; **Koosah Quenelle, Grand Ronde, third**; Kwn Musi Matheson, Coeur d'Alene, fourth; and Izaiah Ruelas, Klamath, fifth.

Boys Fancy: Dasan Scholfield, Wintu/Potawatomi, first; Littleman Scabbyrobe, Yakama, second; Kalen Scalplock, Siksika/Navajo, third; Sunhawk Barney, Navajo/Paiute, fourth; and Jainus Faithful, Cree/Frog Lake, fifth.

Teen Girls Jingle: Noralene Scalplock, Navajo/Siksika, first; Cecillie Rose, Colville, second; Gracie Diamond, Oneida/Ojibwe, third; SuSun Fisher, Siletz, fourth; and Soraya Mendez, Warm Springs, fifth.

Teen Girls Fancy: Mariah Leavitt, Yakama/Puyallup, first; Carole Azure, Chippawa/Yakama, second; Autumn Johnson, Wasco, third; Teata Oatmen, Umatilla, fourth; and Maya Melina, Yaqui/Kechua, fifth.

Teen Girls Traditional: Destiny Summers, Klamath/Wasco, first; Kateri Howtopat, Yakama, second; Sydney Matheson, Colville/Coeur D'Alene, third; Star Upshaw, Dine, fourth; and **Makenzie Aaron, Grand Ronde, fifth.**

Teen Boys Grass: Desmond Madera, Blackfeet/Colville, first; Manny Hawley, Cree, second; Chad Browneagle, Spokane, third; **Marcel Allen**,

Womens Fancy: Urseloria Kanuho, Dine, first; Roseanne Greene, Nez Perce/Salish, second; Katrina Blackwolf, Warm Springs/Yakama, third; Josette Wahwasuck, Prairie Band Potawatomi, fourth; and Andrea Fowler, Nakoda/Dakota, fifth.

Womens Traditional: Leah McGurk Brown, Navajo, first; Tisa Matheson, Nez Perce, second; Lautiss Shebala, Nez Perce/Navajo/Lakota, third; Lacey Bacon, Shoshone Bannock, fourth; and **Leah Villa, Grand Ronde, fifth**.

Mens Grass: Dakota Upshaw, Dine, first; Kelsey Haywahe, Wasco/Assiniboine, second; Victor Harry, Salish, third; Adrian Primeaux, Yankton Sioux, fourth; and Mason James McGurk, Navajo, fifth.

Mens Fancy: Davey Madera, Blackfeet/Colville, first; Gary Olney, Yakama, second; Jay J. Meninick, Yakama, third; Manny Totus, Walla Walla, fourth; and Jamie Ward, Wintu, fifth.

Mens Traditional: Tommy Whiteplume, Nez Perce, first; Colin Chief, Warm Springs, second; Gabe Cleveland, Ho-Chunk, third; Jason Stacona, Warm Springs, fourth; and Bryon Adams, Yakama, fifth.

Golden Age Women: Wilma Buck, Yakama, first; Sarge Tillequots, Yakama/Nez Perce, second; Ruth Tom, Paiute/Shasta, third; Lynne Pinkham, Nez Perce, fourth; and Wilma Wahsise, Yakama, fifth.

Golden Age Men: Peter Jo Olney, Yakama, first; Stan Greene, Nez Perce/Salish, second; Allenroy Pay-kwin, Jicarilla Apache/Zuni, third; Rudy Shebala, Dine, fourth; and Wes Honena Sr., Sho-Ban, fifth. ■