Smoke signals. (Grand Ronde, Or.) 19??-current, July 01, 2011, Page 11, Image 11

Below is the OCR text representation for this newspapers page. It is also available as plain text as well as XML.

    Smoke Signals 1 1
JULY 1,2011
Medicare Part B reimbursement
notice for Tribal members
If you are a Grand Ronde Tribal member, have reached the age of
retirement (65) or have started to receive Social Security Retirement or
disability benefits through Social Security (SSD), you may be eligible to
receive Medicare Part B benefits through the Tribe. To find out if you are
eligible, or to get enrolled in Medicare Part B, please do the following;
call toll-free 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227) or go online at www. You will need to request an application for enrollment in
Medicare Part B and return it to your local Social Security Office. Once
you are enrolled in Medicare Part B through Social Security, you will need
to call our office to request a Medicare Part B Reimbursement packet to
apply. As a Grand Ronde Tribal member, the Tribe will reimburse your
Medicare Part B premium each month at the standard rate.
Note: If you are currently on the Skookum Tribal Health Plan it is
required that you accept Medicare Part B when you become eligible.
By not accepting Medicare Part B, your coverage for medical expenses
could be drastically reduced.
If you need a Medicare Part B reimbursement packet sent to you
or have any questions regarding the Tribe's reimbursement program,
please call Reina Nelson in Member Services at 503-879-2223 or toll
free at 1-800-422-0232, ext. 2223. You may call Barbara Steere with
questions regarding our Skookum Tribal Health Plan coverage at
503-879-2487 or toll-free at 1-800-749-2928. B
Chemawa seeking
School Board members
Chemawa Indian School in Salem is accepting nominations for three
new School Board members from the states of Oregon, Montana and South
Indian parents or legal guardians of students enrolled at Chemawa In
dian School are encouraged to seek appointment to the board. However,
any adult Indian who is interested in the future of Chemawa and dedicated
to supporting and promoting the purposes and objectives of the board is
eligible to be selected as a board member.
To be eligible, an individual must be a resident of the attendance area
requested, be a member of a federally recognized Tribe and preferably a
parent or guardian of a school-age student in the school, be 21 or older
and not be an employee of the Bureau of Indian Affairs.
Those interested can either submit a letter from their respective Tribal
Council or submit a petition signed by not less than 10 qualified Indian
voters from his or her state.
Either one of those along with the candidate's resume must be filed with
Jon Claymore, Seattle Education Line Officer, 909 First Ave., Seattle, WA
98104, by Friday, July 15.
For more information, call Claymore at 206-220-7975.
CairadlDdlafte flora inni wo 00 be foeldl My 27
continued from front page
Spirit Mountain Gaming Com
mission and a health coordinator
at Providence Portland Medical
Kathryn Harrison, Roll 237,
nominated June Sell-Sherer,
Roll 735. Sherer is retired from
service on Tribal Council (1999
2005, 2007-10) and lives in Grand
Violet Folden, Roll 625, nomi
nated LeLani Folden, Roll
1939. Folden is on the board of
directors of the Saddle Club and
lives in Grand Ronde.
Annabelle "Peachie" Hamm, Roll
605, nominated Khani Schultz,
Roll 1395. Schultz is currently
Tribal Cultural Collections co
ordinator and lives in Grand
Evelyn Seidel, Roll 308, nom
inated Brenda Tuomi, Roll
1438. Tuomi is an academic ad
viser at the University of Oregon
and lives in Springfield.
Denny Linton, Roll 4426, nomi
nated Michael Bolton, Roll
4762. Bolton is not currently em
ployed and lives in Willamina.
Christina Trevino-Jungers,
Roll 2626, nominated Dakota
Whitecloud, Roll 1587. White
cloud recently retired from almost
22 years of service in many Tribal
government positions and lives in
Grand Ronde.
Tammara Bovee, Roll 2426,
nominated Clifford Olson, Roll
2038. Olson has just graduated
from Portland State University
with a bachelor's degree in Hu
man Services and lives in Eu
gene. Jan M. Reibach, Roll 3227,
nominated Jan D. Reibach, Roll
668. Reibach owns a construc
tion company, is a former Tribal
Council member (2000-06) and
lives in Willamina.
Robert Nagel, Roll 4874, nomi
nated Harold Lyon, Roll 4864.
Lyon is retired, lives in Grand
Ronde and serves on the Tribe's
Rodeo Special Event Board and
Fish and Wildlife Committee.
Bob Haller, Roll 226, nominated
Mark Mercier, Roll 551. Mer
cier is retired from 15 years of
service on Tribal Council (1984
99), many of which he served as
Tribal chairman, and works for
Round Valley Construction. He
lives in Grand Ronde.
Valarene Grout, Roll 268, nomi
nated Margaret Provost, Roll
645. Provost, who is credited
with helping get the Tribe's Res
toration effort started, is retired
from service on Tribal Council
(1990-93, 1995-98) and lives in
Grand Ronde.
Stacey Running Bird, Roll 3294,
nominated Perri McDaniel, Roll
2524. McDaniel is Eugene area
office coordinator and lives in
Grand Ronde.
All nominees accepted their nomi
nations. Ballots will be mailed to voters
with verified signatures on July
27. Tribal members may create a
verified signature card at any time
up to and including Election Day,
Saturday, Sept. 10.
Through July 25, Tribal member
Penny DeLoe, chair of the Tribal
Election Board, will be available to
help during normal business hours
in the Member Services office on
the second floor of the Governance
Other members of the Election
Board are Joann Mercier, Sharon
Hanson, Deanna Johnston, Janet
Giddings and Michael Mercier.
Starting July 25 through Elec
tion Day, the Election Office in the
Community Center building will be
open 20 hours a week.
Candidate statements are due
in the Publications office by 5 p.m.
Wednesday, July 13, and will be
featured in the following issue of
Tilixam Wawa, slated to be mailed
the week of July 26.
"Tilixam Wawa will be mailed
out first class," said Publications
Coordinator Dean Rhodes, "so it
should arrive very close to when
the ballots arrive."
Candidates are limited to 600
word statements and candidates
2011 Tribal Council nominees
Jean Turman
Lonnie Leno
Leon Tom
Chris Mercier
Jolanda Catabay
Kathryn Harrison
Violet Folden
Annabelle "Peachie" Hamm
Evelyn Seidel
Denny Linton J "
Christina Trevino-Jungers
Tammara Bovee
Jan M. Reibach
Robert Nagel
Bob Haller
Valarene Grout
Stacey Running Bird
Westly "Buddy" West
Reynold Leno
Kathleen Tom
William "Wink" Soderberg
Denise Harvey
June Sell-Sherer
LeLani Folden
Khani Schultz
Brenda Tuomi
Michael Bolton
Dakota Whitecloud
Clifford Olson
Jan D. Reibach
Harold Lyon
Mark Mercier
Margaret Provost
Perri McDaniel
W 1 ;'
are strongly encouraged to submit
their statements via e-mail to or on a com
pact disc. Hand-written statements
are discouraged to avoid transcrip
tion errors, Rhodes said, and late
statements will not be accepted for
any reason.
In addition, candidate statements
will run "as is," meaning the Tribe's
Publications staff will not edit the
submissions in any way other than
to ensure they meet the 600-word
Ad created by George Valdez
A Tribal Council Candidate Fo
rum will be held 6 p.m. Wednesday,
July 27, in the Tribal gym.
Election results will be counted
at the Community Center on Satur
day, Sept. 10, and posted that eve
ning on the Community Center's
front doors.
This year's 17 candidates match
es the number who ran for Tribal
Council in 2002, but does not exceed
the 18 who ran in 2009. Last year,
15 Tribal members threw their hats
in the ring for Tribal Council.