## Candidate for Lincoln's Royalty

Greetings!

My name is Feliciana Conner and I am a candidate for Lincoln's Day Powwow Queen. I'm currently selling raffle tickets in the community.

I am 18 years old, and grew up in the Warm Springs community and of the Wasco, Umatilla, and Tohono O'odham tribes.

My birth mother is Essie Lawson (Warm Springs) and my father is Marcus Conner (Umatilla).

My maternal grandparents are Estelle Lawson (Brunoe) and Elliot Lawson.

My paternal grandparents are Marcus Stone Harrington and Kit Conner. My foster parents are Alyssa Macy and Ken Kippley.

I am a student at Central Oregon Community College where I am pursuing a degree in Nursing.

At school I participate in the First Nations Club, and in my free time I enjoy snowboarding and spending time outdoors.



Feliciana Conner, candidate for Lincoln's Powwow Queen.

This past summer I participated in a 22-day sea-kayaking and mountaineering course with NW Outward Bound, and completed a fourday 57-mile backpacking trip down the Rogue River with my foster mom

For the raffle, you can purchase facebook.com/simnashopowwow

tickets from me in person or through paypal (paypal.me/ felicianaconner). You can also purchase tickets from Alyssa Macy at the tribal administration building.

Learn more about the Lincoln's Day Powwow on Facebook at: facebook.com/simnashopowwow



Jayson Smith photos at Recreation's December NDN Nite Out.

## Jury list for 2019

The following is the 2019 jury list for the Tribal Court of the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs:

Alanis Ruiz, Dempsena Francine Adams Jr., Rodney Patrick Adams, Albert Dean Aguilar, Easton Regan Aguilar, Joseph Gabriel Aguilar, June Rosena Aguilar, Myntora L. M Aguirre, Bernavene Stella Allen Jr., Robert Lee Allen, Reynolds Allen, Shirley Allen-Johnson, Jenna Jodae Alonso, Josephine Ida Alonso, Wilma Ida Anderson, Gifford Lee Anderson, Ina Mae Anderson, Joseph Carl Anguiano, Alexis Ray Arthur, James Daniel Bagley, Donald Lee Bagley, Jaylynn Diane Begay, Destry Rae Begay, Julia Marie Berry, Bobbie Jo Binder, Jacob Howard Blackwolf, Angeline Diane Blueback, Kevin Anthony Bobb, Levi Bobb, Tahmaira Elaine

Boise Jr., Randolph Charles Boise, Jackson Earl Brisbois, Naomi Joann Briseno, Liandro Briseno, Susie Renee Brown, Martin Tanewasha Brown, Tamiesha Delrae Bruised Head, Sammy Kay Bruno, Jerrold Ernest Brunoe Jr., Cecil Daniel Bryant, Farrell Katherine Caldera, Aaron Ray Caldera, Jasmine Sheylenne Caldera, Nakia Marie Charley Jr., Earl Wayne Charley, Alias Earl Charley, Benjamin Earl Charley, Bonny Helen Charley, Buddy Alexander Charley, Celestine Mae Charley, Minnie Laurie Charley, Shamona Mae Jane Charley, Tricia Karlina Charlie Jr., Albert Chee Jr., Charlie Chief, Ina Kiya Clark, Ardis Juelle Clements, Denise Georgette Clements, Elaina Ann Clements, Jennifer Connie Clements, Luther Clements, Reggie T Clements, Rittni Frances Cortazar, Darylynne Leigh Cortez, Robert William

Courtney Sr., Steven Charles Courtney, Bernyce Kay Courtney, Sheryl Lynn Courtney-Rose, Lori Craig, Eric Bradley Craig, Shaylene Nicole Crooked Arm, Sharon Priscilla Cruz, Caroline Martinez Cuevas, Lillian Elvetta Cuevas, Marta Beatriz Culps Jr., Anthony Culps Jr., Sammy Lloyd Culps, Ronnie Joshua Culpus Jr., Emerson Culpus, Delina Delvine Danzuka Jr., Owen George Danzuka Sr., Owen G. Danzuka, Ashlynne Rochelle Danzuka, Charnelle Rose Danzuka, Rebecca June Danzuka, Romelle Renee David, Arlene Katelyn David, Seth O'bryan Dowty, Zachary James Edwards, Mileena Raelee Eguizabal, Elbrosia Ambrosia Esquiro, Izaak Jack Estimo, Jolene Foster, Dondi Leon Frank, Eileen Marcia Frank, Gail Lynn Frank, Gerald Ray Frank, Ida Carol Frank, Martin Rhoan

Jury list continues on page 9



## Summary of Tribal Council

December 4, 2018

Bobb, Travis Reid

Roll Call: Chief Delvis Heath, Chief Joseph Moses (9:30), Chief Alfred Smith Jr., Chairman Eugene Greene Jr., Raymond Tsumpti, Valerie Switzler (9:40), Carina Miller, and Lee Tom. Alfredine Smith, Recorder.

Environmental Protection Agency Region 10 Government to Government meet and greet with Chris Haldick and Wenona Wilson.

Carbon credits/trust revenue review with Howie Arnett and Matt Hill.

Motion by Carina for a position letter to be generated by Tribal Council to Senator Ron Wyden and Senator Jeff Merkley opposing the nomination of Eric Miller to the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. Second by Raymond. Question: 7/0/0/, Chairman not voting. Motion carried.

Agenda amendment: Memorandum of Understanding between Oregon Department of Transportation and Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs presented by Wendell Jim, Tribal Employment Rights Office.

•Motion by Lee adopting Resolution No. 12,542 approving the Memorandum of Understanding

between the Oregon Department of Transportation and the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs Reservation of Oregon as set forth in Exhibit A, and Tribal Employment Rights Office shall regularly report back to Tribal Council on implementation of said Memorandum of Understanding, Second by Carina. Question: 7/0/0, Chairman not voting. Motion carried.

Cannabis update and resolution with Roderick Ariwite and Laurie Danzuka, Ventures.

· Motion by Carina adopting Resolution No. 12,543 approving the foregoing budget from tribal funds in the amount not to exceed \$2,000,000 and is hereby appropriated for transfer to Warm Springs Financial Strategies LLC with effective date of January 7, 2019. Second by Valerie. Question: 4/0/3, Chairman not voting. Motion carried.

Tribal Member concerns with Elder Council.

• Motion by Raymond authorizing a special per capita distribution in the amount of \$250 for each eligible member who appears on roll as of November 26, 2018. Second by Carina. Question: 1/1/5, Chairman not voting. Motion

tied.

•Chairman called for short recess to obtain legal advice from tribal attorney.

• Tribal attorney advised the Chairman can break the tie by casting a vote or can call for revote at the table. Chairman asked members at the table if there is reconsideration of their vote. Revote at the table: 3/2/2, Chairman not voting. Motion carried.

• Motion by Raymond adopting Resolution No. 12,544 authorizing a special per capita distribution on December 20, 2018 in the amount of \$250 for each eligible member who appears on the roll as of November 26, 2018, understanding anything over \$600 is taxable. Second by Carina. Question: 5/1/1/, Chairman not voting. Motion carried.

• Discussion at the table. Winona Strong raised a question if the balance of \$250 will be paid out next year, or do we have to go through this process again? Raymond. We need to read back on the minutes of what I made mention: \$250 now and in the event the carbon arrives then fall back on this next fall.

No further discussion. Meeting adjourned at 4:35 p.m.

