# **Opinion / Politics**

## - Election Results-

#### **CONTINUED FROM PAGE 1**

#### **US Senator**

Jim Lindsay (	(LBT)	107	1.24	
Shanti S Lewa	allen (V	WFP)	178	2.07
WRITE-IN	2	.02		

#### US Representative, District 2

 Greg Walden (REP)
 6,969
 81.92

 James (Jim) Crary (DEM)
 1,510
 17.75

 WRITE-IN
 28
 .33

#### Governor

 James Foster (LBT)
 180
 2.09

 Kate Brown (DEM)
 2,030
 23.58

 Cliff Thomason (IND)
 235
 2.73

 Aaron Donald Auer (CON)
 143
 1.66

 Bud Pierce (REP)
 6,012
 69.84

 WRITE-IN
 8
 .09

#### Secretary of State

Sharon L Durbin (LBT)1842.20Dennis Richardson (REP)5,98771.55Paul Damian Wells (IND)2833.38Brad Avakian (DEM)1,66819.94Alan Zundel (PCG)1111.33Michael Marsh (CON)1331.59WRITE-IN1.01

#### **State Treasurer**

Chris Henry (PRO)	239 2.93
Tobias Read (DEM)	1,779 21.82
Jeff Gudman (REP)	5,358 65.73
Chris Telfer (IND)	771 9.46
WRITE-IN 5	.06

#### **Attorney General**

Lars D H Hedbor (LBT)			252	3.11
Ellen Rosenblum (DEM)		2,312	28.55	
Daniel Zene Crowe (REP)		5,523	68.20	
WRITE-IN	11	.14		

#### State Senator, 30th District

 Ted Ferrioli (REP)
 6,453
 78.45

 W Mark Stringer (DEM)
 1,751
 21.29

 WRITE-IN
 22
 .27

#### State Representative, 60th District

Cliff Bentz (REP) 6,761 98.67 WRITE-IN 91 1.33

#### **County Commissioner Position 1**

 Vote for 1
 6,448
 93.13

 Bruce Nichols (REP)
 6,448
 93.13

 WRITE-IN
 476
 6.87

#### Judge of the Supreme Court, Position 6 Vote for 1

Lynn R Nakamoto 5,027 98.82

## Director, Zone 2 BURNT RIVER SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION

Dennis Kiely30698.08WRITE-IN61.92

#### Director, At Large 1 BURNT RIVER SOIL AND WA-TER CONSERVATION NO CANDIDATE FILED 0

NO CANDIDATE FILED WRITE-IN 38 100.00

#### Director, Zone 2 EAGLE VALLEY SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION NO CANDIDATE FILED 0 WRITE-IN 71 100.00

Director, Zone 3 EAGLE VALLEY SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION NO CANDIDATE FILED 0 WRITE-IN 64 100.00

#### Director, At Large 1 EAGLE VALLEY SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION NO CANDIDATE FILED 0 WRITE-IN 67 100.00

#### Director, Zone 2 KEATING SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DIST

 Walter Jury
 130
 98.48

 WRITE-IN
 2
 1.52

## Director, Zone 3 KEATING SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DIST

Rex Nelson126 100.00WRITE-IN0

#### Director, At Large 1 KEATING SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DIST

Christie Wilde11495.00WRITE-IN65.00

#### Mayor HUNTINGTON, CITY OF

Vote for 1 Eileen Driver 55 28.35 Candy Howland 75 38.66 WRITE-IN 64 32.99

#### City Council HUNTINGTON, CITY OF

 Vote for 3

 Wiley L Harding Jr
 133
 24.63

 Brandy K Wilson
 55
 10.19

 Mattie J Buchanan
 35
 6.48

 Jack Gerould
 53
 9.81

 Richard (Dick) Cummings
 113
 20.93

 John R Mclean
 130
 24.07

 WRITE-IN
 21
 3.89

#### Mayor SUMPTER, CITY OF

 G LeAnne Woolf
 25
 21.74

 WRITE-IN
 90
 78.26

WRITE-IN 21 11.41

#### **City Council HAINES, CITY OF** Vote for 3

Lisa Whited 151 29.90 Ken Bain 170 33.66 Connie Pound Lewis 105 20.79 WRITE-IN 79 15.64

#### City Council UNITY, CITY OF

Vote for 5 NO CANDIDATE FILED 0 WRITE-IN 10 100.00

#### City Council BAKER CITY, CITY OF

 Vote for 6

 Mike Downing
 2,880
 17.23

 Rosemary Abell
 2,689
 16.08

 Arvid E Andersen
 2,709
 16.20

 Jamie Ostrander
 2,568
 15.36

 Daniel K Lowe
 2,580
 15.43

 Loran Joseph
 2,786
 16.66

 WRITE-IN
 506
 3.03

#### **State Measure 94**

 Vote for 1

 Yes
 2,178
 25.75

 No
 6,281
 74.25

#### State Measure 95

 Vote for 1

 Yes
 4,878
 60.06

 No
 3,244
 39.94

#### State Measure 96

Vote for 1 Yes 7,034 82.48 No 1,494 17.52

#### State Measure 97 Vote for 1

Yes 2,125 24.59 No 6,516 75.41

#### State Measure 98

Vote for 1Yes4,36351.80No4,06048.20

#### State Measure 99

 Vote for 1

 Yes
 4,694
 55.60

 No
 3,748
 44.40

#### State Measure 100

 Vote for 1

 Yes
 3,707
 44.56

 No
 4,612
 55.44

WRITE-IN 60 1.18

#### Judge of the Court of Appeals, Pos. 5

Scott Shorr 4,912 99.05 WRITE-IN 47 .95

#### Judge of the Court of Appeals, Pos. 8

 Roger J DeHoog
 4,828
 98.95

 WRITE-IN
 51
 1.05

#### **County Sheriff**

John Hoopes	3,113	37.19
Travis Ash	5,243	62.64
WRITE-IN	14 .	17

## Director, Zone 2 BAKER VALLEY SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION

Vote for 1 Deryl R Leggett 4,642 99.27 WRITE-IN 34 .73

#### Director, Zone 4 BAKER VALLEY SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION NO CANDIDATE FILED 0

WRITE-IN 305 100.00

## Director, Zone 5 BAKER VALLEY SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION

 Dean Defrees
 4,698
 99.53

 WRITE-IN
 22
 .47

#### Director, At Large 1 BAKER VALLEY SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION

Vote for 1 Brent Thompson 4,297 99.54 WRITE-IN 20 .46

#### Director, At Large 2 BAKER VALLEY SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION

Curtis W Martin 4,296 98.80 WRITE-IN 52 1.20

## Director, Zone 1 BURNT RIVER SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION

Richard D'Ew	/art	318	98.15	
WRITE-IN	6	1.85		

#### City Council SUMPTER, CITY OF

Vote for 2NO CANDIDATE FILED0WRITE-IN121 100.00

#### Mayor HALFWAY, CITY OF

Vote for 1 Sheila Farwell 113 81.29 WRITE-IN 26 18.71

#### City Council HALFWAY, CITY OF

Vote for 1Frances Gulick Vaughan148 96.73WRITE-IN5 3.27

#### City Council HALFWAY, CITY OF

Vote for 3 Alan J Hanley 126 29.37 Marion A Crow 82 19.11 Dianna Lynne Carey 93 21.68 Khris Lorence 109 25.41 WRITE-IN 19 4.43

#### Mayor RICHLAND,

CITY OF NO CANDIDATE FILED 0 WRITE-IN 61 100.00

#### City Council RICH-

LAND, CITY OF Vote for 3 Deloris Dennis 75 30.99 Angie Tucker 77 31.82 Patsy Mitchell 76 31.40 WRITE-IN 14 5.79

Mayor HAINES, CITY OF Jim Brown

163 88.59

#### Letter to the Editor Policy: The Baker County Press reserves the right not to publish letters containing factual falsehoods or incoherent narrative. Letters promoting or detracting from specific for-profit businesses will not be published. Word limit is 375 words per letter. Letters are limited to one every other week per author. Letters should be submitted to Editor@TheBakerCountyPress. com.

Advertising and Opinion Page Disclaimer: Opinions submitted as Guest Opinions or Letters to the Editor express the opinions of their authors, and have not been authored by and are not necessarily the opinions of The Baker County Press, any of our staff, management, independent contractors or affiliates. Advertisements placed by political groups, candidates, businesses, etc., are printed as a paid service, which does not constitute an endorsement of or fulfillment obligation by this newspaper for the products or services advertised.

#### 1-74 County Measure

Yes 4,202 50.55 No 4,110 49.45

#### 1-76 City of Halfway

Yes 93 52.84 No 83 47.16

#### 1-77 City of Halfway

Yes 152 89.41 No 18 10.59

#### 1-75 City of Huntington

Yes 183 90.59 No 19 9.41

## 1-78 City of Sumpter Yes 105 84.68 No 19 15.32

**23-56 Treasure Valley Comm. College** Yes 72 32.00 No 153 68.00

### - CONTACT US -

#### The Baker County Press

PO Box 567 Baker City, Ore. 97814

Open Monday-Thursday for calls 9 AM - 4 PM Open 24/7 for emails

Phone: 541.519.0572

TheBakerCountyPress.com

Kerry McQuisten, Publisher Editor@TheBakerCountyPress.com

Wendee Morrissey, Advertising and Sales Wendee@TheBakerCountyPress.com

David Conn, Advertising and Sales David@TheBakerCountyPress.com

Published weekly every Friday. Subscription rates per year are \$29.95 all areas, e-mail delivery. \$39.95 print issue, home delivery, Baker City city limits only. \$49.95 print issue, mail delivery, outside Baker City city limits only. Payment in advance.

> A division of Black Lyon Publishing, LLC

Copyright © 2014 -2016

#### YOUR ELECTED OFFICIALS

**President Barack Obama** 202.456.1414 202.456.2461 fax Whitehouse.gov/contact US Sen. Jeff Merkley 503.326.3386 503.326.2900 fax Merkley.Senate.gov US Sen. Ron Wyden 541.962.7691 Wyden.Senate.gov US Rep. Greg Walden 541.624.2400 541.624.2402 fax Walden.House.gov Oregon Gov. Kate Brown 503.378.3111 Governor.Oregon.gov State Rep. Cliff Bentz 503.986.1460 State Sen. Ted Ferrioli 541.490.6528 **Baker County** Commissioners Bill Harvey; Mark Bennett; Tim Kerns 541.523.8200 541.523.8201