Local

BHS graduation



Photo courtesy of Jason Heisey, BHS Class of 1990.

Outgoing BHS principal Ben Merrill spoke to graduates of the class of 2016 at Baker High School last Sunday.

Pine-Eagle graduation



Carmelita Holland / The Baker County Press

Halfway's Pine Eagle Charter High School's commencement was on Saturday.

BY CARMELITA HOLLAND News@TheBakerCountyPress.com

The Pine Eagle Charter High School Commencement Program was held on June 4, 2016, at two o'clock in the afternoon, in the high school auditorium at Halfway. Over two hundred relatives and friends of graduates were on hand to congratulate and help thirteen Seniors celebrate.

Superintendent Cammie deCastro welcomed guests. introduced school personnel and the Class of 2016. Salutatorian Ryan Rau was first to speak, followed by Commencement speaker, Patrick Barrett.

A special song, Nella Fantasia, was presented by music instructor Denzil Kumar, singing with graduate, Kelsey Whybark, accompanied by Dona Schmitt on the piano. Moroni Jensen was Valedictorian.

Presentation of the Class was by Ashley Taylor-Joseph, Class President.

Lacey Walker was named Female Athlete of the Year, and Leland Seggerman was named Male Athlete of the Year.

Principal Morgan Gover was in charge of certification of the class.

Cammie deCastro introduced Bob Seal, Chairman of the School board who presented Diplomas.

Assistant Barbie Morgan and Cammie deCastro had

the honor of distributing a number of Awards and Scholarships which have had anxious students waiting for. A list of these are available courtesy of Pine Eagle Charter School.

Members of the Class of 2016 were: Sarah Elizabeth Cooley, Zachariah Moss Cooley, Moroni Johnson Jensen, Devin Orion A. Rasmussen, Ryan Casey Rau, Jeffrey Todd Rice, Leland David Seggerman, Ashley Dawn Tay lor-Joseph, Wyatt Justin Tyler, Talon Seth Vander-Meer, Lacey Dawn Walker, Kelsey Lynn Whybark, and Christine Arlene Mary Margaret Cook. The Class song was Happiness.

First Friday at the **Courthouse**

CONTINUED FROM PAGE 8

RS 2477 was enacted by Congress in 1866, to encourage settlement of the western U.S., by the development of a system of highways, and it granted to counties and states a right-of-way, across federal land, when a highway was built. Having been repealed in 1976, it still granted "valid, existing rights." Harvey expressed praise again, for the input provided by Bennett and Kerns at the BMFPR meeting, and Tork voiced praise for Kerns especially, regarding his comments on this, and other topics, during that same meeting.

Wanda commented on road use, stating that members of the community (and out-of-area users) hunt, fish, search for huckleberries, cut firewood, and participate in many other activities, making open roads critical to the County. This prompted discussion about road blocks and road gates, and Chase mentioned how, on more than one occasion, he saw felled trees were used as a road block method. and comments were made about the liability about creating blocks, like tank traps.

Creighton voiced concerns regarding a proposed consolidation of City and County law enforcement agencies, an idea he opposes, because he doesn't want to see County Sheriff Travis Ash, for one,

stripped of his authority and role, and because he believes the City and County work well together, as they are, as separate entities (he cited the standoff situation as an example, listening to law enforcement communication). Harvey responded that the consolidation wouldn't happen, pointing out that, at the very least, with any consolidation, the City would have an advantage. and that the City Chief of Police is hired to the position, while the County Sheriff is elected.

First Friday with the Commissioner is held on the first Friday of each month, in the Commission Chambers of the Baker County Courthouse.

Pine Eagle senior awards

Moroni Jensen-Valedictorian Ryan Rau-Salutatorian Ashley Taylor Joseph-Class President

Awards. Christine Cook-The Leo

Adler Scholarship Sarah Cooley-L.G. Wells Scholarship for \$1000, Harold Alfred Wyatt Scholarship for \$2,353.80, the Pine Eagle Employees' Scholarship for \$500, the Paul Kergel Scholarship for \$1,285, and the Leo Adler Scholarship for a total of at least \$5,138.80 in scholarships awarded.

Zachariah Cooley-the Pepsi scholarship for \$500, the Gary Grace Memorial Scholarship for \$500, and the Leo Adler Scholarship for at least \$1,000 in scholarships awarded.

Moroni Jensen- the Pine Eagle Agricultural Science & Technology Advisory Committee Scholarship for \$800

Devin Rasmussen-Harold Alfred Wyatt Scholarship for \$2,353.80, the Elkhorn Aerie No. 3456 for \$1,000, the Midthe Paul Kergel Scholarship for \$1,285, the Guy Davis & Past President's Scholarship for \$1,500, and the Leo Adler Scholarship for at least \$6,638.80 in scholarships

Ryan Rau-Harold Alfred Wyatt Scholarship for \$2,353.80, the Pine Eagle Employees'

Scholarship for \$500, the Paul Kergel Scholarship for \$1,285, and the Leo Adler Scholarship for at least \$4,138.80 in scholarships awarded.

Wyatt Tyler-Harold Alfred Wyatt Scholarship for \$2,353.80, the Pine Eagle Agricultural Science & Technology Advisory Committee Scholarship for \$800, the National FFA/Ford Motor Company "Built Ford Tough" Scholarship in combination w/ Legacy Ford in LaGrande for \$1000, and the Paul Kergel Scholarship for \$1,285 for at least \$5,438.80 in scholarships awarded.

Lacey Walker-Hilda D. Elliot Memorial Scholarship for \$2000, the Harold Alfred Wyatt Scholarship for \$2,353.80, the Pine Eagle Employees' Scholarship for \$500, the Mary Weir Yoder Scholarship for \$1,000, the Jesse A.D. Tremaine Scholarship in the amount of \$500, the Paul Kergel Scholarship for \$1,285, an Oregon Promise Grant in the amount Memorial Scholarship for \$500, and the Leo Adler Scholarship for at least \$11, 481.80 in scholarships awarded. Children of IDACORP Employees Scholarship-Sarah Cooley for \$2,000 Hank Allen Memorial Scholarship Lacey Walker \$500, Zach Cooley \$500,

Gordon Summers' Memorial Scholarship- Lacey Walker

Oregon Telecommunications Association Scholarship Sarah Cooley \$2,000, Zach Cooley \$1,000 Anderson & Perry Scholarship- Ryan Rau \$750

Up With People Leadership Merit Scholarship, Leland Seggerman \$8,725 This year's additional post

graduates receiving the Paul

Kergel Scholarship are: Celisa Digges Jamie Butler Stetson Kuta Carlie Powell Tristen Rau Sierra Saunders Jesse Swanson Keegan Wreden Scholar Athlete Activity Scholar, Sarah Cooley Sarah Cooley, Moroni Jensen, Lacey Walker, Ryan Rau, Wyatt Tyler, Devin Rasmussen The total combined amount in scholarships awarded to this year's seniors is at least

Scholar of the Year - This year's co-recipients are Moroni Jensen and Ryan Rau. PEHS Athletes of the Year Female: Lacey Walker

Male: Leland Seggerman Principal's Leadership Award, Lacey Walker.



Earn While You Learn Program

Find out how to earn money for good grades! Ask at your local branch or visit us online. The annual program is available through July 31st.

> **Baker City** 1190 Campbell St 541-524-7667



Local Money Working For Local People

www.communitybanknet.com

Member FDIC

