## **SPORTS**

## Gifts that fast. **BON JOVI** Slippery When Wet Bachman-Turner Overdrive BTO's Greatest Moving Pictures John Barleycorn Must Die Traffic TIME PIECES The Best Of Eric Clapton THE POLICE Reggatta De Blanc The Grand Illusion KISS The Elder The Righteous Brothers **Greatest Hits** compact disc We accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover

## Duck teams finish fifth at NCAAs

By Jake Berg Emerald Sports Reporter

Junior Pat Haller was the only Duck to place in the top 25 runners at Monday's NCAA cross country championships as both the Oregon men's and women's teams took fifth at Knoxville, Tenn.

Crossing the finish line in 16th place, Haller completed the 10,000-meter course in a time of 29:54. The only returner from Oregon's NCAA runners-up squad, Haller led Oregon with to a fifth place total of 201 points. The Oregon junior captured all-American honors for the second year in a row by running to 16th in the individual standings, a notch above his 17th place performance of a year ago.

Colin Dalton, coming off a bout of tendinitis in his knee that kept him out of the Region VIII meet, was second on the Oregon team after running 30:26 to place 47th.

Other Oregon finishers included junior Shannon Lemora, who came in two seconds behind Dalton for 50th; freshman Andy Maris at 71st in 30:44; and sophomore Colden Baxter's 110th place run of 31:19, which capped the Ducks' scoring.

Second-ranked Arkansas upset top-ranked and defending champion lowa State by winning its fourth men's team title in the last seven years. Placing two competitors in the top 10 finishers, the Razorbacks recorded 68 points to 96 for the Cyclones. Notre Dame finished third with 185 points, while Texas was fifth with 192 points.

Iowa State's Jonah Koech ran 29:05 for the men's individual title, and Montana State's Shannon Butler snared the runner-up trophy with a second-place time of 29:11.

As the only school to finish in the top five teams without an individual to finish as one of the first 25 runners. Oregon's fourth-ranked women's squad leveled a balanced offense at the national field for fifth place in the final standings.

Villanova ran away with the team title and also snared the individual crown with Sonia O'Sullivan leading the way for the Wildcats.

Seniors Stephanie Wessell and Liz Wilson showed their consistency as the Ducks' best runners by finishing in the 26th and 32nd places, respectively. Clocking in at a time of 16:56, Wessell bettered her run from last year's NCAA meet by placing 32 spots better than 1989, and Wilson completed Monday's run in 17:02.

Adding to Oregon's 221-point total were Lucy Nusrala in 64th place with a time of 17:26, sophomore Nicole Woodward's 66th standing in a time of 17:27 and junior Lisa Karnopp's run of 17:44 for 102nd.

All of Oregon's women runners except for Wessell and Wilson were running at the NCAA meet for the first time.

## Musgrave honored with awards

Quarterback Bill Musgrave won two awards at Sunday's football awards banquet to lead the long list of award winners.

Musgrave won the Hoffman Award, presented annually to the team's most outstanding player, and also took home the Elmer Sahlstrom which rewards a senior with the highest grade point average and has also shown exemplary attitude.

Musgrave, from Grand Junction, Colo., missed the better part of two games but still threw for 2.219 yards and 14 touchdowns. Although Musgrave's numbers weren't as high as they were a year ago, the Ducks were 7-2 in games Musgrave started and finished, including a perfect 7-0 mark at home.

In the classroom, Musgrave, a finance major, had a 3.5 grade point average entering fall term and will graduate this term. Musgrave has also won two scholarships totaling \$15,000 from the National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame.

Senior strong safety Rory Dairy won the Will Gonyea Award as the team's most inspirational player.

Dairy, a senior from Compton, Calif., is a two-year starter for the Ducks and was the team's defensive captain this season. Dairy is fourth on the team with 67 tackles this season and also has one interception.

Freshman tailback Sean Burwell, who probably had the biggest impact of any newcomer in Oregon football history, won the Leonard J. Casanova Award — named after the former Duck football coach — as the team's top first-year player.

Burwell, from Canoga Park, Calif., has already broken the school record for most all-purpose yards in a season with 1,539 yards, breaking the former record held by Tony Cherry. He also has 949 rushing yards, sixth-best in school history, and can add to those totals in the Freedom Bowl against Colorado State Dec. 29.

Burwell also caught 28 passes for 286 yards, returned 11 kickoffs for 304 yards and scored eight touchdowns.

Two first-year starters, junior tight end Jeff Thomason and sophomore free safety Eric Castle, shared the Clarke Award as the team's most improved player.

Thomason, from Balboa, Island, Calif., was having a tre-

Turn to AWARDS, Page 9



